12/13/17 #theblender at theMutt Backblast @F3louisville #getbetter #f3counts

Q: Wedding Singer

6 PAX: Vincent (respect), Amelia, Glenn Ross, Pope, Old Bay, Wedding Singer

Conditions: Dry but cold. Wind chill was 19, actual temp 24.

This was only my second Q, but both nights now prior to my Q I’ve been up MUCH later than I should be. It’s nerves, but it’s also because I’m making tweaks and deciding if I really want to do this (i.e. coupon burpees) or should I do that? When Pope arrived wearing only a sleeveless shirt for a top layer, I got a touch nervous. I want the PAX to have a good workout. The last thing I want is thoughts of “I got out of the warm fartsack for this?” When the wind chill is 19 and you have a PAX member wearing no sleeves, you better bring it. You at least hope to bring it.

After asking if anyone was an FNG and a quick disclaimer regarding modify if needed we took off for a lap around the school. We then stopped in the back parking lot for COT.

COT:

All exercises were in cadence, except for the yoga stretching:

20 Grass Grabbers

20 IW

15 Moroccan arm twist things (Dark Helmet Q’d these at the 12/9 convergence)

20 SSH

Repeat-o on all of the above. After circling through the above warm-up exercises twice we did some yoga stretches. Downward dog- to cobra- to childs pose.

We run another lap around the school and stop at the small playground for Thang 1.

T1-

1:4 Jack Webb pull-ups/ merkin combo. We did these in cadence. 1 pull-up, drop to 4 merkins, 2 pull-ups, drop to 8 merkins and so on. We made it to 5:20 and it hurt! My arms were smoked after this one.

As I was announcing this T1 exercise Old Bay said ‘Nice’. That helped take the nervous energy away. What nervous energy? Re-read the last half of paragraph 1.  We take one more lap around the school and head down to the prayer garden/ coupon storage for Thang 2.

T2-

Each PAX grabs some wall space and we do 15 dips IC. Next we each grab a coupon for 10 coupon presses IC. We set the coupon aside and take one more lap around the school for Thang 3.

T3-

Ab Mary:

20 LBC’s

15 Body saws

20 Davinci’s

Rinse and repeat on above. Glenn Ross or Old Bay gave a 10 count for me at this point. We continued with:

15 LBC’s while holding left leg in the air. Switched to 15 LBC with right leg in the air.

20 Lunges OYO

15 SSH in cadence

We returned the coupons, did yet another lap around the school and headed to the shovel flag for…

COR and NOR. I pulled the 6 at my own Q (LOL) and explained the origins of my name. After intentions and a reminder from Glenn Ross to pick another date to Q 4-6 weeks after a day that you Q, I closed it out with a prayer. This included thanking the sky Q for letting me lead these 5 fellow HIM’s on a crazy cold morning.

Amelia mentioned to me he just started his journey with F3 last week, and he has already posted at multiple locations. Nice work Amelia. Abacus, thanks for bringing him into the fold. 50% of todays PAX (okay, that was only three people) were visiting from other Louisville sites. I like the support that shows and it also confirms naming the Wednesday Mutt workout #theblender was very appropriate. It was not a large PAX but I enjoyed leading them.

Wedding Singer out.

2 thoughts on “12/13/17 #theblender at theMutt Backblast @F3louisville #getbetter #f3counts

Leave a comment