1/9 Back blast the O at Seneca #BagOfWrenches

Q – OJ

PAX: Red Roof, Glaucoma, Cutlass, Captain Insane-o, Face, Diablo, Wham!, Glen Ross, PK, Double Down (respect), DOT, Little Jerry (respect), Nugget, Abacus, Gillespie, Dodododo, Butcher, Star Child, Kilo, Bean Counter

When thinking about what I wanted to do for an upcoming Q, it had always crossed my mind that it would be interesting to redo an exact replica of my first post.  So not out of lack of creativity or anything, I figured we could all go back and do it again and see how much better we had all got.  My first post was August 22 which happened to be Wham’s VQ.  I was a three time marathoner and I figured I could hang pretty good with these guys (I didn’t modify anything) and I was wrong.  I thought it was hard.  I hadn’t done a crunch or ab exercise in years.  Truth be told, I spilled merlot when I got home that day and the M said my face looked like a ghost.  **disclaimer** It didn’t help that it was like 88 degrees that morning.

The Start was a long mosey to the tennis courts

COP

15 SSH IC

12 IW IC

13 Air squats IC

15 MC IC

10 Merkins IC

15 LBCs IC

Plank – right arm up/left arm up down to elbow plank

Thang 1

We split off into two groups: Group 1 would run the mile loop around Seneca park. Group 2 partnered up on the tennis courts for the following:

P1: SSH AMRAP

P2: Run to the end of the courts for 5 burpees (I remember I didn’t even know what a burpee was)

*I was paired up with Pope that day, thinking what kind of monster is this?**

P1: Freddie Mercury’s AMRAP

P2:  Run to the end for 10 Merkins

P1: Flutter Kicks AMRAP

P2: Run to the last court and Bear Crawl the last court

P1: LBC’s AMRAP

P2: Run to the last court and Crab Walk the last court

P1: Hold Al Gore

P2: Run to the last court and Broad Jump the last court

P1: Jump in Place (Kilo said this was such a Wham! exercise)

P2: Run to the end for 10 Plank Jacks

*when other group got back, switch up rinse/repeat

Thang 2

Over to the coupon field (my apologies as the field was incredible soggy, I should’ve had this exercise moved over in front of the bathrooms or something)

Partnered up, one with coupon, one without for 30 second intervals in group circle

P1: Coupon Curls AMRAP

P2: Tip toe around said muddy field as to not fall around the circle

P1: Coupon Presses AMRAP

P2: SSHs

P1: Coupon Squats AMRAP

P2: Burpees

P1: Incline Merkins w Coupon

P2: Bobby Hurleys (thought I heard CI said we don’t do enough of these)

After we returned the coupons and (j)ogged over to the tennis courts

12 Gas Pumps IC

**Here’s where Wham’s w/o ended.  How did I feel?  Great!  How did I feel then?  Like I’d been hit by a train (then they had to give me my silly name and all I wanted to do was get out of there)

With a couple of minutes left I added my personal favorite

20 Dying Cockroaches IC

20 Merkins IC

It’s absolutely crazy how much everyone has all gotten better over the last few months.  I’m sure everyone remembers their first time and man do I ever.  So glad I came back and kept at it.  I’m really impressed when I see a first timer come back after two days.  I think I waited a week before coming back.

We ended with NOR, COT

Notes: Iron Horse challenge, and CI and Star Child are only months away from having their own merch tables at the workouts.

I thanked the good Lord above for getting these men out together on a warm morning.  Lifted Mr. Hat and Iceman up in prayer.  I think we all say this but I never thought I’d be doing what I’m doing with this group.  I’m thankful for those that encouraged me to check it out.  Nobody knew we needed this like we all do.  Keep HL’ing more guys.

-OJ

Leave a comment