1/10/18 BackBlast for Diablo’s Visit to #TheBlender at #TheMutt

Unknown-1

Q: Diablo

PAX: Wham!, Mayberry, OJ, Pope, Quimby, Zoolander, GlenRoss, Trump, Old Bay, Zartan, Tron, Mad Cow, Digiorno, Diablo

Attire for Q:

Shirt – Brooks Brothers Non-Iron Button Collar
Bowtie – Brooks Brothers Classic Red/White/Black School Stripe
Belt – Black Canvas Featuring Skull & Crossbone Design
Pants – Under Armor Golf Pants (I so wanted to wear my J Press classic khakis so I could discuss trim levels with GlenRoss and maybe get his learned opinion.  But, I needed some functionality for the beatdown I knew to be forthcoming.)
Socks – SmartWool
Shoes – Church’s Mens Leather Brogues in Brown —Wait, that’s a lie to impress Trump. I don’t own any Church’s shoes. So I wore Allen Edmunds Fifth Avenue Cap-Toe Oxfords in Merlot. Hold up, dammit, that was another lie. I don’t own those either though they look nice and I’d love one day to have a pair to drop off for a good shining at one of Zoolander’s clubs. (“Yes, I’d like a generous amount of polish–a high shine, and be sure to use quality saddle soap this time. I’m also deathly afraid that your dauber brush is worn, allowing old polish to remain on the leather. Make sure you inspect that prior. Yes, good, I’ll pick those up on Tuesday.”) The truth is I wore a pair of Blue Nike running shoes that I bought at the outlet store so I could beat them to death on mornings like the one past.
Hat – Adidas tennis hat, in classic white, again for Zoolander.

Pope Attire for Post:

He had on a muscle shirt and some shorts, which is the same thing he wore when it was 12 degrees.

Getting Dressed

I woke up just a few minutes earlier than normal to dress for the occasion that was my VQ at The Mutt. I laid my clothes out the night before. It was more difficult than usual. I felt as if I’d been invited to tour the Club, not for a full membership or anything (they know where I’m from of course), but maybe a weekender pass, with access to the pond, and a yearly round of golf. Oh how things could change if accepted. But, do I wear the button down collar, to show that I’m relaxed, more casual? Or how about the pinpoint collar, to show that I’m a serious person, and there to work, and to hint that I may own more than one dress shirt? If I do that, will tooth picks work as collar stays? Probably, and that’d be classy. Will anyone make fun of my performance khaki’s if I choose to refrain from the cotton twill? And the shoes–my god why have I never invested in a pair of those brown Ecco walking shoes? Is there an Ecco outlet?

I consulted a 1985 edition of The Official Preppy Handbook I one time “borrowed” from an old lawyer’s office and eventually got it done. I even proudly displayed the garments for a picture to send to my mom:

Unknown

The Workout

Wait, isn’t this BackBlast to describe the workout performed? Why yes it is, but you enjoyed reading what I just wrote, so back off.  And, when it comes to the Workout, the club members were reminded of why I was there, even if more dapper than normal–to bring pain.

Warm Up

After a run around the school, there were:
25 SSHs
25 Mountain Climbers
25 Squats (in cadence)
25 Imperial Walkers

Thang 1

PAX partnered up for 4x4s and LBCs.
Partner 1 performed 4x4s AMRAP, while Partner 2 ran length of the parking lot to complete 30 LBCs at the end, only to run back to relieve and switch places with Partner 1.
Rinse & Repeat 3x

Thang 2

PAX again circled the school with a light jog, only to end up in the coupon sanctuary.  All PAX grabbed a coupon and climbed the stairs to circle up in the parking lot for:

Full thrusters x 10
One arm rows x 12 (2 sets)
Shoulder Presses x 20 (2 sets)
Reverse Lunges with Coupon x 20 (2 sets)
Front Squats with Coupon x 10 (2 sets)
American Hammers with Coupon x 15 (in cadence)
Davinci’s with Coupon x 10 (2 sets) — Yes, you read that correctly.
Big Boy Set Ups x 20 (2 sets)
Staggered Merkins / Planks using Coupons x 10

I can safely relay that all PAX were severely smoked after this coupon circle of pain.

PAX returned coupons and ran back long way to the flags for COT, Name-o-rama, and intentions.

I said a thank you to the SkyQ for the ability to get out and do stupid stuff while wearing clothes ill-suited for the purpose.

I had fun this morning, and obviously enjoyed throwing some good-natured barbs at my Holy Trinity / St. Matthews friends in both the PreBlast and the BackBlast. It also allowed me to jokingly reference some insecurities I had upon moving to Louisville 15 years ago or so. (Yes, this cocky guy you know as Diablo had some growing pains like everyone else.) But, I would like to note that the group of HIMs I’ve met through F3 have been a blessing. You provide me motivation, accountability, and, in all seriousness, role models. Thank you for the opportunity to lead, and for the opportunity to be with you all.

-Diablo

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment