1/16/18 BackBlast for Diablo’s Return to #TheMutt for #TheRooster

Unknown-1

Q: Diablo

PAX: Zima, Wham-O, Deuce, GlennRoss, Amelia, Abacus, Mad Cow, Old Bay, Zartan, Quimby, Diablo

Game Time Conditions: 10 degrees; light snow falling; overcast; 69% humidity; 3-4 inches of snow cover

Q Attire: I wore clothing sufficient to keep my nuts from forming a permanent wrinkle.

I awoke, eager to get to the gloom. I knew the PAX would enjoy what I had in store for them, and felt good about myself for creating some work that would keep the PAX warm and not too damp in the Siberian conditions we now find ourselves living within. But, as I pulled on shirt number three, something occurred to me: I had forgotten to put the 100 lb heavy bag into the truckster the night before, when I could have done so with some help. But, I, Diablo, after pouting and staring angrily at the bag for approximately 7 minutes, and being tempted to awake my 14 and 12 year old daughters for a morning chore, made a decision—I was going to bearhug that mf’r and trek out into the snow for some fun.

I arrived and was happy to see 10 HIMs ready to go; simply waiting on me. Zartan had kept the PAX occupied with a story of his past life as a Nordic invader into what we now call England. I missed the first part of the story, but caught the final tidbit of how he enjoyed the raids on monastaries best because they held most of the local treasures and beer recipes.  “They called us heathens, but whatever man. I used to tell Regnar that they could call me whatever they wanted. But I was taking that ale.” Mad Cow stroked his fine beard and said in his best Tennessean, “I don’t believe you.” I stopped them before an argument arose over Zartan’s reincarncation into … well, a modern-day Viking who can’t stop talking about ale and hops and his distaste for London futbol teams (We may want to let that one go, Mad Cow.)

Warm-Up

PAX made an easy jog around the school to the parking lot.  We circled up for:

25 SSHs
25 Imperial Walkers
20 Abe Vigodas (is that how you spell that?)
20 SSH’s (in a silent cadence, which was pretty cool)

The Thang

PAX partnered up.  5 teams.

The first team was tasked with carrying, however they could muster, a 100 lb Everlast heavy bag that had no straps or handles, fully around the campus.

The other four teams had one partner do 4 burpees, while other partner farmer-walked with 2 coupons across the parking lot. (Want forearm work? Then carry heavy things.) When burpees were complete, that partner would relieve the other of the coupons to continue the farmer walk, while previously coupon farmer walker would run back for burpees.

When the first team arrived back with the bag, the bag was picked up by the second team, who then had the task of carrying the bag around campus.  The first team then fell in line for burpees and farmer walking.

This continued until I, Diablo, realized the bag carry was taking longer than expected, and that PAX was doing a high number of burpees and probably losing the ability to use their forearms.  So, we changed up partner work to coupon merkins, running, and squats.  After I noticed Old Bay laying on his coupon, we changed it to coupon curls, running, and split-lunges.  But, the team bag-carrying exercise continued until all teams completed a lap around campus.

Once complete, the coupons were returned, and PAX circled upon for some LBCs. I suspect most PAX completed around 100 LBCs.

Zartan and Quimby pushed all other PAX out of the way to be the HIMs to return the heavy bag to the Q’s truckster. It was I suppose a pretty awesome photo-op.  Said Quimby, “I just want it noted that I was there to help.” I told him I was just happy to note that he had something over his tights this cold morning.

PAX circled up for COT, name-o-rama, and intentions.  (Abacus drew the 6 and explained his name, which he said was result of him being an accountant. Perhaps that is true. But, we also learned this morning that Abacus is a Pink Floyd fan, and may or may not have a back tat. So now I like to envision young Abacus sitting in his room, slightly “dazed,” but not confused, listening to Dark Side, while sliding beads on his own abacus to calculate the amount of LSD Syd Barrett did before leaving the band and being institutionalized—thus the name Abacus.)

The PAX made a request to the Sky Q for all prayers, spoken and unspoken, to be heard, and a request that we HIMs do all we can here to help those in need.

Thank you as always for the opportunity to lead, and for the opportunity to be a part of THIS.

-Diablo

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment